|Address before 1945:||Columbiastraße 2|
|Address today:||Columbiadamm/Ecke Golßener Straße, 10965 Berlin|
A memorial stone laid in 1995 commemorates the fact that the Columbia-Haus once stood on this spot. From 1933, it served first as a prison and, from 1935 to 1936, as a “wild concentration camp”. Among the approximately 8,000 prisoners held there were prominent Jews such as the lawyer Hans Litten (1903–1938) and the rabbi Leo Baeck (1873–1956). SS guards who had served at Columbia-Haus were — on the basis of the experience they gained here — later deployed to other internment facilities. When the Columbia-Haus was closed to make way for an expansion of Tempelhof Airport, the prisoners interned there were taken to Sachsenhausen (in Oranienburg, just outside of Berlin), where they were forced to build the new concentration camp.