Gerson Company

District: Mitte
Address before 1945: Werderstraße 9-12; Werderscher Markt 5/6
Address today: Werderscher Markt 5, 10117 Berlin

Hermann Gerson (1813-1861) began selling textiles in Berlin in 1836. In 1848 he founded Berlin’s first department store at Werderscher Markt. By 1894, the company was regarded as a market leader. Many aristocrats shopped here and later on film stars, as well. In the 1920s, the company had more than 1,200 employees.
In order to avoid becoming the object of antisemitic hostility, the company even began in May 1933 to carry SA and SS uniforms. In 1936 the fashion house Gerson, which after the death of its founder was still in Jewish hands, was “Aryanized” via the textile firm Horn.
The Gerson company was among the many clothing manufacturers then located at nearby Hausvogtelplatz. Many of the owners were Jewish. A memorial installation at the entrance to the U-Bahn station at Hausvogteiplatz commemorates the persecution they suffered.


Thumb c204c Thumb c204a Thumb c204b Thumb c204z

Firma Gerson

Bezirk: Mitte
Adresse vor 1945: Werderstraße 9-12; Werderscher Markt 5/6
Adresse heute: Werderscher Markt 5, 10117 Berlin

Hermann Gerson (1813-1861) begann 1836 in Berlin mit dem Verkauf von Textilien. 1848 gründete er am Werderschen Markt das erste Berliner Kaufhaus. 1894 galt das Unternehmen als Branchenführer. Hier kauften viele Adelige, später auch Filmstars. In den zwanziger Jahren hatte die Firma mehr als 1.200 Beschäftigte.
Um antisemitischen Anfeindungen zu entgehen, nahm das Unternehmen im Mai 1933 sogar den Verkauf von SA- und SS-Uniformen in sein Sortiment auf. - 1936 wurde das Modehaus Gerson, in dessen Führung auch nach dem Tode des Gründers weiterhin Juden tätig waren, durch das Textilunternehmen Horn "arisiert".
Die Firma Gerson zählte zu den vielen Konfektionsunternehmen, die um den nahe gelegenen Hausvogteiplatz existierten. Viele der Inhaber waren Juden. An ihre Verfolgung erinnert eine Gedenkinstallation am Eingang zur U-Bahn-Station Hausvogteiplatz.


Thumb c204c Thumb c204a Thumb c204b Thumb c204z