Fasanenstraße Synagogue

District: Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
Address before 1945: Fasanenstraße 79-80
Address today: Fasanenstraße 79-80, 10623 Berlin

The Fasanenstraße Synagogue was built on this spot in 1912. With a seating capacity of 2,000, it was one of the largest houses of worship serving the roughly 27,000-strong Jewish population of Charlottenburg. Even prior to 1933, the area around the synagogue building was the target of numerous antisemitic attacks.
After being desecrated during the pogroms of 9-10 November 1938 — an event that can be directly traced back to an order by Reich Propaganda Minister Joseph Goebbels (1897–1945) — the building was gutted by fire, as the fire department did not extinguish the flames but merely prevented them from spreading to neighboring structures. Ernst Günter Fontheim, then 16 years old, was a witness to these events.
The ruins of the building, which had been further damaged in airstrikes, were eventually demolished. The Jewish Community building standing here today was dedicated in 1959. Pieces of the façade of the old synagogue have been incorporated into its façade. A memorial frieze in front of the building refers to the camps in which Jews, including many Berliners, were murdered during the Shoah. In addition, a stylized sculpture of a damaged Torah scroll has stood here since 1987. In 2010 a plaque was mounted, recalling community members originally from the former Soviet Union who fought against the Nazis during the Second World War.


Thumb c008a Thumb c008c Thumb c008d Thumb c008e Thumb c008f Thumb c008g Thumb c008z

Synagoge Fasanenstraße

Bezirk: Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
Adresse vor 1945: Fasanenstraße 79-80
Adresse heute: Fasanenstraße 79-80, 10623 Berlin

An dieser Stelle konnte 1912 die Synagoge Fasanenstraße eröffnet werden. Es handelte sich mit 2.000 Sitzplätzen um eines der größten Gotteshäuser für die damals in Charlottenburg lebenden ca. 27.000 Juden. Bereits vor 1933 kam es mehrfach zu antisemitischen Vorfällen im Umfeld des Synagogenbaus.
Nach Schändungen bei den Pogromen am 9./10. November 1938, die direkt auf eine Anordnung des Reichspropagandaministers Joseph Goebbels (1897-1945) zurück zu führen waren, brannte das Gebäude aus, da die Feuerwehr nicht löschte, sondern nur ein Übergreifen der Flammen auf Nachbargebäude zu verhindern suchte. Ernst Günter Fontheim, damals 16 Jahre alt, war hierbei Augenzeuge.
Die zudem durch Luftangriffe zerstörte Ruine wurde abgetragen. 1959 weihte man den Bau des heutigen Jüdischen Gemeindehauses ein. In dessen Front sind Fassadenteile der alten Synagoge eingefügt. Ein Gedenkfries verweist vor dem Gebäude auf die Lager, in denen auch Juden aus Berlin in der Shoa ermordet wurden. Zudem befindet sich hier eine 1987 errichtete stilisierte beschädigte Thora-Rolle. 2010 kam eine Tafel hinzu, auf der an ursprünglich aus der ehemaligen Sowjetunion stammende Gemeindemitglieder erinnert wird, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg gegen die Nationalsozialisten gekämpft haben.


Thumb c008a Thumb c008c Thumb c008d Thumb c008e Thumb c008f Thumb c008g Thumb c008z