Max Reinhardt

Max Reinhardt was born Maximilian Goldmann in a spa town outside of Vienna in 1873. In 1904 the family changed its surname to Reinhardt. After first training as a bank employee and then as an actor, he worked as a theater director in Germany and Austria from 1902 to 1933. In 1920, Reinhardt founded the Salzburger Festspiele (Salzburg Festival). At the height of his career, he ran 13 theaters in Berlin and Vienna, including the world-famous Theater in der Josefstadt (Vienna) and the Deutsches Theater (Berlin). The combined forces of the Great Depression and the diminishing success of his productions led him to give up the direction of his German stages. After spending a few years in Austria, Max Reinhardt emigrated to the US. Here he would prove unable to build upon his earlier successes. He died impoverished in New York in 1943.


Thumb d025a Thumb d025b Thumb d025c Thumb d025d Thumb e003b Thumb e003a

Migration: Max Reinhardt

Max Reinhardt fled Berlin and the Nazis, initially to Austria. His theaters had already been confiscated in March 1933. On 16 June 1933 Reinhardt penned an open letter to the governments of the German Reich and of Prussia and especially to the Reich Minister of Education, who was responsible for theater. In the letter, Reinhardt gifted his theaters to the German people: “Since I am devoted to Germanness with a momentarily spurned yet nonetheless unshakable love and know that truth, the courage of convictions and loyalty are inherent in it, I believe that this repeatedly and gratefully invoked connection [between Reinhardt’s oeuvre and internationally renowned theater; ed.] cannot be disputed, even today… Without good will or official support, artistic theater cannot survive under present circumstances… Therefore the only possibility left to me… is to offer to Germany the possession my life’s work.”

“If I now… surrender my property to the state… I will be able to leave with a light conscience, secure in the belief of having thereby repaid a debt of gratitude for my many happy years in Germany.”

Exclusion and Alterity: In autobiographical notes composed in exile in New York shortly before his death in 1943, Reinhardt commented: “These days, making serious theater is essentially a quixotic exercise. It means attempting to tilt with artistic ideals at the monstrous windmills rattling away in our stormy times. The whole world has become a stage… Great stars play the leading roles… They issue their orders under the thunder and lightning of the canon. They create their fellow man in their own image… and lead crusades against the faith, the words and the race of their lord and savior. For they are jealous gods, who can suffer no others beside themselves.”

(Max Reinhardt, Ausgewählte Briefe, Reden, Schriften und Szenen aus Regiebüchern, ed. Franz Hadamowsky [Vienna 1963], p. 96–97, 99, 119 [in the order of the three quotations])

Max Reinhardt

Max Reinhardt wurde 1873 als Max Goldmann in der Nähe von Wien geboren. 1904 änderte die Familie ihren Namen in Reinhardt. Nach Banklehre und Schauspielunterricht, arbeitete er von 1902 bis 1933 als Theaterregisseur in Deutschland und Österreich. Reinhardt begründete 1920 die Salzburger Festspiele. In Berlin und Wien betrieb er 13 Bühnenhäuser, darunter weltberühmte Bühnen wie das Theater in der Josefstadt (Wien) oder das Deutsche Theater (Berlin). Unter dem Druck der Weltwirtschaftkrise und angesichts des Rückgangs seiner Theatererfolge in Berlin gab er die Leitung der deutschen Bühnen ab. Nach wenigen Jahren in Österreich emigrierte Max Reinhardt in die USA. Hier gelang es ihm nicht mehr an seine früheren Erfolge anzuknüpfen. Verarmt starb er 1943 in New York.


Thumb d025a Thumb d025b Thumb d025c Thumb d025d Thumb e003b Thumb e003a

Migration: Max Reinhardt

Flucht und Zwangsmigration: Max Reinhardt floh vor den Nationalsozialisten aus Berlin (Wohnung Max Reinhardt) zunächst nach Österreich. Bereits im März 1933 wurden die deutschen Reinhardt-Bühnen zwangsenteignet. Am 16. Juni 1933 richtete Reinhardt daraufhin einen Brief an die Regierungen des Deutschen Reichs, Preußens und speziell an den für Theater zuständigen Unterrichtsminister des Deutschen Reiches. Reinhardt schenkte seine Bühnen dem deutschen Volk: „[D]a ich dem deutschen Wesen, dem ich mit augenblicklich verschmähter, trotzdem unerschütterter Liebe anhange, Wahrheit, Bekennermut und Treue eingeboren weiß, glaube ich, daß dieser immer wieder dankbar beschworene Zusammenhang [zwischen Reinhardts Wirken und international renommiertem Schauspiel; d. Red.] auch heute nicht verleugnet werden kann … Ohne Wohlwollen und ohne offizielle Förderung kann ein künstlerisches Theater gerade unter den heutigen Umständen nicht bestehen … Deshalb bleibt mir … nur die eine Möglichkeit, die Übernahme meines Lebenswerkes Deutschland anzutragen.“

„Wenn ich nun … dem Staat meinen Besitz überlasse … so nehme ich mit gutem Gewissen die Ueberzeugung mit mir, daß ich damit eine Dankesschuld abtrage für meine langen und glücklichen Jahre in Deutschland.“

Ausgrenzung und Fremdheit: In einer autobiografischen Aufzeichnung aus dem New Yorker Exil, verfasst 1943, kurz vor seinem Tod, meinte Reinhardt: „Heutzutage ernsthaft Theater zu spielen ist im Grunde genommen eine Donquichoterie. Das heißt mit künstlerischen Idealen ankämpfen zu wollen gegen die ungeheuren Windmühlen, die im Sturm unserer Zeit klappern. Die ganze Welt ist eine Bühne geworden … Große Stars spielen die Hauptrollen … Sie verkünden ihre Befehle unter Blitz und Donner der Kanonen. Sie schaffen ihre Mitmenschen nach ihrem Ebenbilde … und sie führen Kreuzzüge gegen den Glauben, gegen die Worte und gegen die Rasse ihres Herrn und Heilands. Denn sie sind eifersüchtige Götter, die keinen Gott neben sich dulden.“

(Max Reinhardt. Ausgewählte Briefe, Reden, Schriften und Szenen aus Regiebüchern. Vorbemerkung von Helene Thimig-Reinhardt. Vorwort von Josef Stummvoll. Herausgegeben von Franz Hadamowsky, Wien 1963, S. 96f., 99, 119 [in der Reihenfolge der drei Zitate])