Else Lasker-Schüler

Elisabeth “Else” Schüler (1869–1945) grew up in Elberfeld as the daughter of a private banker and his wife. Her marriage to Dr. Jonathan Berthold Lasker, a medical doctor, brought her to Berlin in 1894. Her first poems were published around the turn of the century. The couple separated in 1903. Else Lasker-Schüler later married the writer Georg Lewin (pseudonym Herwarth Walden: 1878–1941). From 1912, Lasker-Schüler was romantically involved with the author Gottfried Benn (1886–1956). She was also associated with the painter Franz Marc (1880–1916). From her last place of residence in Berlin (see Residence of Else Lasker-Schüler), Else Lasker-Schüler emigrated to Erez Israel, where she died. Personal experience, idealized images of Palestine and especially of Jerusalem, Biblical themes and the experiences of exile feature heavily in Lasker-Schüler’s expressionistic work.


Thumb d010a Thumb e004a

Migration: Else Lasker-Schüler

Flight and Forced Migration: Else Lasker-Schüler fled Berlin (See Home of Else Lasker-Schüler) to Switzerland. On 21 June 1938 she wrote to the dentist Hermann Leisinger (1898–1986) in Zurich:
„Esteemed Doctor, I am the poet Else Lasker-Schüler and thus far I have not dared to come to you, to you as a doctor, of whom so many speak so favorably, as I am an emigrant and could only pay you in installments, and I cannot know if you will accept my word… May I come to your office? Tomorrow, Wednesday, in the morning?”
(Else Lasker-Schüler to Hermann Leisinger, 21 June 1938, in Else Lasker-Schüler, Letters 1941-1945. Addenda, ed. Karl Jürgen Skrodzki and Andreas B. Kilcher [Frankfurt a.M. 2010], p. 466.)

After two previous visits, Else Lasker-Schüler finally emigrated to Jerusalem, Palestine in 1939. In 1941, she turned to the educator and philosopher Ernst Akiba Simon (1899–1988), who had been there since 1928, for help: „My dear Adon. Do you know of any way out for me of the terrible situation in which I am living? I’m at my wit’s end. All winter long all I did was work – wrote a whole play, 7 acts, in verse, in an unheated, ice-cold room, and not once did I complain to the landlord, and again and again tried to swallow his insults. The past 4 months I’ve been paying 6 pounds for my very simple room with nothing, not even a glass of tea… I’ve just been drifting along, the way it must be in prison.”
(Else Lasker-Schüler to Ernst Simon, 13 June 1941, in Else Lasker-Schüler, Briefe 1941–1945, Nachträge, ed. Karl Jürgen Skrodzki and Andreas B. Kilcher [Frankfurt a.M. 2010], p. 34.)

Else Lasker-Schüler

Elisabeth (genannt: Else) Schüler (1869-1945) wuchs als Tochter eines Privatbankiers und seiner Frau in Elberfeld auf. Ihre Eheschließung mit dem Arzt Dr. Jonathan Berthold Lasker brachte sie 1894 nach Berlin. Um die Jahrhundertwende veröffentlichte sie erste Gedichte. 1903 trennte sich das Ehepaar. Else Lasker-Schüler heiratete den Schriftsteller Georg Lewin (Pseudonym: Herwarth Walden; 1878-1941). Ab 1912 war Lasker-Schüler mit dem Autor Gottfried Benn (1886-1956) liiert. Sie hatte Kontakt zum Maler Franz Marc (1880-1916). Vom letzten Wohnort Else Lasker-Schülers in Berlin aus begab sie sich in die Emigration nach Erez Israel, wo sie verstarb. - Eigenes Erleben, Idealbilder Palästinas, speziell Jerusalems, biblische Themen und Erfahrungen des Exils mischen sich in Lasker-Schülers expressionistischem Werk.


Thumb d010a Thumb e004a

Migration: Else Lasker-Schüler

Flucht und Zwangsmigration: Else Lasker-Schüler verließ Berlin (Wohnort Else Lasker-Schüler) über die Schweiz. Ihrem Zahnarzt Hermann Leisinger (1898-1986) in Zürich schrieb sie am 21. Juni 1938:
„Hochzuverehrender Herr Doktor, Ich bin die Dichterin Else Lasker-Schüler und wagte nicht bisher zu ihnen zu kommen, zu Ihnen dem Arzt, von dem so viele Menschen vertrauend sprechen, da ich eine Emigrantin bin und nur abzahlen könnte und ich kann ja nicht wissen, ob Sie zu meinem Wort vertrauen? … Darf ich eintreten? Morgen Mittwoch Vormittag?“
(Else Lasker-Schüler an Hermann Leisinger, 21. Juni 1938, in: Else Lasker-Schüler. Briefe 1941-1945. Nachträge. Bearbeitet von Karl Jürgen Skrodzki und Andreas B. Kilcher, Frankfurt a.M. 2010, S. 466.)

1939 emigrierte Else Lasker-Schüler endgültig nach Jerusalem/Palästina. An den Pädagogen und Philosophen Ernst Akiba Simon (1899-1988), der bereits 1928 nach Palästina eingewandert war, wandte sie sich 1941 um Hilfe: „Verehrter Adon. Wissen Sie einen Ausweg für mich, so schlecht geht es mir wo ich wohne und weiß mir keinen Rat. Ich habe den ganzen Winter über nur gearbeitet – ein ganzes Theaterstück 7 Akte gedichtet im ungeheizten eiskalten Zimmer und nie dem Wirt geklagt, auch versuchte ich immer wieder seine Beschimpfungen einzustecken, bezahle die letzten 4 Monate 6 Pfund für mein sehr einfaches Zimmer ohne irgend auch nur ein Glas Thee. …Ich lebte so hin wie etwa Gefängniß sein muß …“ .
(Else Lasker-Schüler an Ernst Simon, 13. Juni 1941, in: Else Lasker-Schüler. Briefe 1941-1945. Nachträge. Bearbeitet von Karl Jürgen Skrodzki und Andreas B. Kilcher, Frankfurt a.M. 2010, S. 34.)